IT’S NOT OFFSIDES? REALLY?
So, I first wrote this post thinking the play was offsides.
Guess what, I was wrong.
Here is the rule:
83.1 Off-side: “…However, a player actually controlling the puck who shall cross the line ahead of the puck shall not be considered “off-side,” provided he had possession and control of the puck prior to his skates crossing the blue line.”
It seems that Gaborik had control when he entered the zone before the puck.
One is never too old to learn something new.
A special thanks to Michael for the photograph.