Video: The Two Minute Minor Against Dwight King For Boarding Was The Right Call

My first thought was that it should have been a double minor. Then, someone pointed out that boarding cannot be a double minor. I looked up the rule.

41.1 Boarding – A boarding penalty shall be imposed on any player or goalkeeper who checks or pushes a defenseless opponent in such a manner that causes the opponent to hit or impact the boards violently in the boards. The severity of the penalty, based upon the impact with the boards, shall be at the discretion of the Referee.

There is an enormous amount of judgment involved in the application of this rule by the Referees. The onus is on the player applying the check to ensure his opponent is not in a defenseless position and if so, he must avoid or minimize the contact. However, in determining wheter such contact could have been avoided, the circumstances of the check, including whether the opponent put himself in a vulnerable position immediately prior to or simultaneously with the check or whether the check was unavoidable can be considered. This balance must be considered by the Referees when applying this rule.

Any unnecessary contact with a player playing the puck on an obvious “icing” or “off-side” play which results in that player hitting or impacting the boards is “boarding” and must be penalized as such. In other instances where there is no contact with the boards, it should be treated as “charging.”

41.2 Minor Penalty – The Referee, at his discretion, may assess a minor penalty, based on the degree of violence of the impact with the boards, to a player guilty of boarding an opponent.

41.3 Major Penalty – The Referee, at his discretion, may assess a major penalty, based on the degree of violence of the impact with the boards, to a player guilty of boarding an opponent (see41.5).

41.4 Match Penalty – The Referee, at his discretion, may assess a match penalty if, in his judgment, the player attempted to or deliberately injured his opponent by boarding.

The hit wasn’t violent enough for a major penalty, the little bit of blood aside. Dwight King’s push was minimal. It was a dangerous play but two minutes was the right call, with a bonus shorthanded goal to boot.

Here is the video.



Categories: L.A. Kings Videos

Tags: , ,

21 replies

  1. yeah your a homer

  2. Nope, the supervising official agreed:

    http://lakingsinsider.com/2012/04/28/nhl-official-comments-on-king-hit/

    Now comes the $2500 Shannaban fine and it’s done and over.

  3. we’re all homers. That said, King got lucky. It should have been a major and maybe 1 or 2 game suspension.

    • Suspension for that baby hit? Gimme a break!

      • Pietrangelo was really fucked up on the boards. Sure it may not have been deliberate or forceful but that the hand on the back was enough. The Kings were lucky the extent of the damage was not apparent.

        That’s the only thing that saved Mr. King from the dressing room.

        Shit, did you see Pietrangelo’s mouth guard filling with blood at the bench? Or the river of blood flowing down his chest.

        Intent, didn’t look like it, but the result was a car crash.

      • It wasn’t even a hit, it was more like a shove. It wasn’t intentional but it was in a bad spot and Pietroangelo went into the boards head first. Again, luck for King and the Kings because the refs called it wrong. If one of the Blues does that with Voynov or Doughty I’m going to scream bloody murder and demand a suspension.
        Btw, did the wheel of justice say anything yet?

  4. I will agree the boarding wasn’t malicious, it did however injure Petro causing him to bleed and miss the entire 3rd period.

    All players know not to shove from behind like that so I believe it should have been a major since it did cause injury.

  5. It was definitely not a violent hit from behind. The hit started far from the end board, closer to the goal line. It was not a cross check type, but more or less a push type, that was not really anything extreme at all. There was no continuation of the push to create a crush effect. It was the right call. At first I thought Petro dived, but, he really stumbled.

  6. From this mornings Hockey News

    “THN’s Take: In winning Game 1 of their first round upset of the first-place, top-seeded Vancouver Canucks, the Los Angeles Kings showed they deserved to be in the playoffs. And in winning Game 1 of their second-round showdown with the powerhouse Blues – beating St. Louis 3-1 at their own defense-obsessed game – California’s sole remaining team showed they deserved to be seen as a favorite to win the Stanley Cup.” –Proteau

  7. Frankly I look at tit this way: The ghost of Courtnall is exorcised.

    • When I look at tit, the last thing I think of is the Ghost of Geoff Courtnall. But hey, what every floats your puck.

    • No exorcism is complete until we win the fourth game of the series.

      Even if that happens, we’ll have a fresh set of demons to exorcise.

      (However, if we ever do lift the Cup I’m less likely to intone, “In nomine patris et filii et spiritus sancti” than to holler, “Fuckin’ aye!”)

  8. His hand was on on Petro’s side. I don’t even think he had leverage to push.

  9. Does the rule book really say, “hit or impact the boards violently in the boards”? Those stupid Canadians…

  10. Not intentional but good call. Gotta be careful with stuff like that though…definitely dont want a bluesy suzy coming after one of ours for revenge.

  11. From my perspective as a huge Kings fan, I would say that the 2 minute call is correct. Any sort of supplemental discipline would be a kick in the groin to the game of hockey. I can easily see where a Blues fan would wholeheartedly disagree though. But if everyone takes the homer glasses off, I still think this should barely be a penalty in the game of hockey. 2 minutes to error on the side of safety, should have been the call by the referee.

    If you freeze the video at 1:14, you will see that King has Pietroangelo lined up on the back side of Pietroangelo’s right shoulder and not from directly behind in Pietroangelo’s numbers. Pietroangelo does, what in the past was considered a cardinal sin in hockey. He turns his back on the approaching checker and DOES NOT PROTECT HIMSELF. By 1:15 you see that Pietroangelo has now turned his tail to face the oncoming King and he tries to get a shoulder into King to get position on the puck. What the fuck is Pietroangelo doing? He has given up all leverage that he had on his left skate and he has put himself directly in to harms way with his mug facing the end boards. In this split second King is given no chance to really adjust his angle of attack, slow his approach or avoid Pietroangelo. To King’s credit, it does appear that he let up and did not drive Pietroangelo into the boards. I am not actually sure that King’s initial though was to throw a big check on Pietroangelo in the first place. It appears that he is more intent of getting position on Pietroangelo and boxing him out to gain possession of the puck behind the net. King is just playing aggressive forechecking hockey and I see the 2 minute penalty as something that Pietroangelo draws. This isn’t women’s hockey!

    I think this play by Pietroangelo is stupid and it is part of a problem the league is starting to create with some of the supplemental discipline and the on ice calls during games. The players no longer feel the need to police themselves. In the past, the onus was on the players to protect themselves and protect your teammates. Now it’s, ‘Let the league review the play in slow motion frame by frame and exact revenge for you’. No reason to get you knuckles bruised up after all and you certainly don’t want to get a misconduct for instigating a fight. Shanahan is now the league’s ultimate heavy. He can knock a guy out for 1, 5, 10, 25 games from thousands of miles away without breaking a sweat. In the past, some knuckle dragger would have exacted revenge on Torres for his cheapshot on Hossa. Weber would have had to answer for his shot on Zetterberg. Now the league fills that role.

    Obviously, Pietroangelo doesn’t want to injure himself, but he really did himself a disservice by not protecting himself in that situation. Was he hoping to draw a potential game or series changing 5 minute major? Perhaps. We’ll never know. But it certainly didn’t work out so well for him or the Blues in this case.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,100 other followers

%d bloggers like this: