NHL Referee Rob Martell. Just seeing his name associated with one of our games makes me cringe. I am really starting to wonder if he knows what the fuck he’s doing. Is he a complete moron? In tonight’s LA Kings v. Anaheim Ducks game, Rob Martell, who wears number 26, called off a goal. Why?
When the video is available on YouTube, I will embed it. You all saw it. Marian Gaborik was streaking for the net. Rob Martell was at a perfect angle to see the entire play. Gaborik started to brake. He was braking hard. Snow was coming off his skates. Clear as day. The Ducks defenseman then maneuvered Gaborik into Ducks’ goalie Andersen and, again, you can clearly see this at game speed.
I didn’t need a replay. The issue of interference or incidental contact? Non issue. Except to NHL referee Rob Martell. Everyone else was just wondering if it went in. I saw it go in and so did my buddy Tyler who sat right next to me. We have a good goal…or so I thought.
Rob Martell called off the goal because of incidental contact. Now, how does a player who starts breaking at the hash marks, never makes a forward stride and is pushed into a goaltender create incidental contact to justify calling off a goal?
If NHL referee Rob Martell was here, we could ask him. If he was here, he would be holding his broken nose, his eyes would be watering and he would most certainly be laying on the ground, writhing in pain, but when he could speak again, he could try and come up with an explanation.
I have one. It’s called the rule book.
Interference on the Goalkeeper – This rule is based on the premise that an attacking player’s position, whether inside or outside the crease, should not, by itself, determine whether a goal should be allowed or disallowed. In other words, goals scored while attacking players are standing in the crease may, in appropriate circumstances be allowed. Goals should be disallowed only if: (1) an attacking player, either by his positioning or by contact, impairs the goalkeeper’s ability to move freely within his crease or defend his goal; or (2) an attacking player initiates intentional or deliberate contact with a goalkeeper, inside or outside of his goal crease. Incidental contact with a goalkeeper will be permitted, and resulting goals allowed, when such contact is initiated outside of the goal crease, provided the attacking player has made a reasonable effort to avoid such contact. The rule will be enforced exclusively in accordance with the on-ice judgment of the Referee(s), and not by means of video replay or review.
For purposes of this rule, “contact,” whether incidental or otherwise, shall mean any contact that is made between or among a goalkeeper and attacking player(s), whether by means of a stick or any part of the body.
The overriding rationale of this rule is that a goalkeeper should have the ability to move freely within his goal crease without being hindered by the actions of an attacking player. If an attacking player enters the goal crease and, by his actions, impairs the goalkeeper’s ability to defend his goal, and a goal is scored, the goal will be disallowed.
If an attacking player has been pushed, shoved, or fouled by a defending player so as to cause him to come into contact with the goalkeeper, such contact will not be deemed contact initiated by the attacking player for purposes of this rule, provided the attacking player has made a reasonable effort to avoid such contact.
If a defending player has been pushed, shoved, or fouled by an attacking player so as to cause the defending player to come into contact with his own goalkeeper, such contact shall be deemed contact initiated by the attacking player for purposes of this rule, and if necessary a penalty assessed to the attacking player and if a goal is scored it would be disallowed.
Emphasis obviously added. More importantly though, it should never even get to that analysis. Marian Gaborik at no point did anything to interfere or keep Anderson from playing his position. He didn’t initiate contact any more than my fist has done so with Rob Martell’s face. While a boy can dream, this isn’t even a close call.
You may be saying, “hey Scribe, give the poor guy a break. He made a mistake.”
You mean a mistake like this one against the Red Wings that Rob Martell and three other zebras made? Where the puck went out of play, hit the net, came back in and went into the goal and NHL referee Rob Martell – yes, the same NHL referee Rob Martell – and his posse missed that too? Yeah, yeah, he was watching the goal line. He couldn’t be expected to, you know, look up as the puck travels over his head, hits the net and bounces back? I mean shit, it’s hard work out there staring at a line.
Boy, it sure seems Rob Martell makes a lot of mistakes.
Color me confounded. What is NHL officiating coming to? I know a couple of beer leagues that could use a referee.
What are your thoughts about NHL Referee, number 26, Rob Martell?
Here is his resume, from the NHL Officials website…didn’t know there was such a stupid thing until tonight.
|NHLOA Member Since||9/1/1992|
|Regular Season Games||813|
|First Regular Season||1995/1996|
|First Regular Season Game||NEW YORK ISLANDERS @ OTTAWA – 4/7/1996|
|First Playoff Season|
|First Playoff Game||@ -|
How many playoff games since 1995/1996?
Is that nada, zilch, not good enough to actually officiate one, that I read??
Huh. Imagine that.
Categories: NHL Referee Rob Martell